Visual of Enoch Calendar: Draft 1

Saige Jenkins (Smith)
2 min readApr 2, 2023

--

Not a mathematician or proficient in geometry, the Enoch calendar as described in the Book of Luminaries has fascinated me for several years.

Although I have tried to represent it several times, the best I could do illustrated a primitive drawing of squares, circle and lines. Still, it was easy to be explained, just not in its entirety.

This was the final understanding back in 2019.

Fast forward to early 2023. I reconnect with an acquaintance and our friendship quickly grows. Her mathematical analytical perspective intrigues me and inspires me to return to the Enoch calendar.

As she mentors me and instructs me about angles, geometry, fractals, and more, I begin to piece together what I missed years ago…the mathematical aspect to the calendar.

But how do I reconcile a 364-day calendar to a 360-degree circle?

Yesterday a picture came to mind. Today I drafted the first attempt.

Using a rule and protractor, I split a 360-degree circle into quarters and color code the calendar markings: blue for days, red for weeks, black for months, green for seasons, and orange for constellation gates (by numbers) as described in the Book of the Luminaries (Books of Enoch).

It still has its share of mistakes and will need to be revised into a format less ambiguous with the “gate” days.

Overall, a circle of 364 degrees, the days on the outer rim, followed in suit with the weeks and months, then gates (constellations the sun rises in each month) with the cross-section of the seasonal gate days exhibit the unique layering of several different cycles that harmonize with each.

This calendar is unique with the 364-day rendering. Most (if not all) other calendars were/are either 360 days or 365.25 days. Another original feature of the Enoch calendar are the equations that lead to whole number answers.

--

--

Saige Jenkins (Smith)
0 Followers

Live what you know. Teach what you learn. Write what you live. Bonus: Forgive to be free.